Day 3

1/24/12

YAHOO! Kindergarten day! Our 5 kinder classrooms are off-site and once a week I go teach them and I love it! I dreamed of the kinders last night and woke up singing this morning.

The day was filled with all of the usual teaching duties. A standout was teaching a 4th grade class just starting on their research projects how to find and order books from the public library. This is a great lesson because it holds such promise for the future. I hope to give children the tools to be life-long library users.

Got a wonderful email from my boss today thanking me for my work on Monday.

At the kindergartens I did 5 back-to-back classes with the children on using their “clues” to read. We did a shared reading of a big-book where the children were asked to use their fingers, the sounds, the pictures, and their brains to figure out words. Then, I passed out books that were readable and the students read them with a partner. They were soooooo excited! They love to read. It was wonderful to give each little one a hug as they left the library.

The kinder teachers and I met briefly to discuss next steps for these kiddos. We’ll meet a week from Wednesday to discuss:

  • Upper-level intervention groups in the classroom
  • Starting a Kindergarten Reading Club with me once a week

Before I left one teacher pulled me into her room to see her students’ journals. In light of our recent inservice, she wanted me to see what her kiddos can do. The writing was AMAZING!!!!! She agreed to share her ideas, talents, and teaching methods with the other teachers at her level in a series of mini-inservices.

This district is filled with the most wonderful teachers!

 

About ritaplattlibrarian

I am an elementary school librarian and I love my job more than it should be possible to love a job! A Nationally Board Certified teacher, my experience includes teaching learners of all levels from kindergarten to graduate students.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

