Day 6

1/27/12

In my 8 hour work day I see an average of 6 classes. Each class runs from between a half and hour and an hour. I also help kids get new books and consult with teachers about curriculum. Just looking at my paper-schedule would be scary for most workers…it’s FULL. But, the truth is, it’s even fuller than it looks. There are several spots on the schedule that look free…but there is NEVER actually free time. There are ALWAYS students and/or teachers in need of something.

I believe that my job is to serve students and teachers and bend over backwards to do so. I think that’s how it should be. Though, I have to admit, sometimes I’m exhausted at the end of the day.

Until last year there has always been a full-time librarian and a library aid in the elementary school library. Though I’ve never had an aid (I started last year) I sure wish I did! During our standardized testing week I get to hire an aid. During that week we get so much done and serve so many students better… if only…

On to more positive reflections! Last week I did an inservice for teachers on using the 6-traits writing rubric. We’ve had low writing scores for a long time and we all knew we needed to up our game. The inservice was well-received and teachers have already begun to implement learned ideas. The writing I saw from one 4th grade classroom was AWESOME and I’m thrilled to continue our work together. Today, I rewrote the rubrics to fit our 1st and 2nd grade classes and the teachers liked them. All of the 2nd grade teachers have asked for team-teaching time (we’re going to shove it into the schedule…how? We’re still not sure…cancel a few library classes? Maybe…) I feel like a change agent and it feels so good!

 

About ritaplattlibrarian

I am an elementary school librarian and I love my job more than it should be possible to love a job! A Nationally Board Certified teacher, my experience includes teaching learners of all levels from kindergarten to graduate students.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

