Day 9

1/31/12

This Monday was another fast-paced adventure in librarianship! Again, most of my day-to-day schedules are the say. I will not do a blow-by-blow of my day today. Instead, I will focus on my role as the facilitator of Accelerated Reader.

In class the other night there was a collective groan when AR was mentioned. I find this frustrating for several reasons.

1. If AR is a school-wide program for reading incentive and assessment of individual reading comprehension of each child then librarians need to get behind it.

2. If done well AR is LOVED by children.

3 To learn to read well children need to read a LOT, they need to pick books at their just-right-level, and they need to be closely monitored for progress. AR is a great way to do this.

I’ve worked and/or consulted at ~20 schools. Some have AR and some don’t. NONE of the schools where kids were not by-and-large proficient used AR. ALL of the schools where children were by-and-large proficient had a WELL-run AR program.

 

 

 

About ritaplattlibrarian

I am an elementary school librarian and I love my job more than it should be possible to love a job! A Nationally Board Certified teacher, my experience includes teaching learners of all levels from kindergarten to graduate students.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

