Day 15

2/9/12

Collaboration is a critical part of the librarians job. On my drive to school this morning I was reflecting on how much I love this aspect of my work with my colleagues. They are VERY open to new ideas and work hard to meet the needs of students. It is a joy to team-teach with each of them.

Today I collaborated with teachers in several ways today:

1. Worked with the 2nd grade classes on writing using the 6-traits rubric. The kids are getting the idea that revision is a big deal and it’s often the most time-consuming and interesting part of writing.

2. Took a student who refused to do his work in his first grade class and sat with him for some one-on-one time. He finished his work.

3. Pulled biographies for a 3rd grade teacher who is beginning a unit on them.

4. Scheduled time with the 2nd grade teachers for more writing workshop support/model lessons.

 

About ritaplattlibrarian

I am an elementary school librarian and I love my job more than it should be possible to love a job! A Nationally Board Certified teacher, my experience includes teaching learners of all levels from kindergarten to graduate students.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

