Day 16

2/10/12

One of the things that I read about librarianship was that often school librarians become coordinator of volunteers. That has turned out to be true for me!

Before I came to the job there had always been a full-time librarian and a full-time aid working in the library. The year I started they dropped the aid. Of course, serving 400 students and their teachers is a BIG job and I literally run myself ragged most days. I NEED help. Pleas to the district for a part-time aid have fallen on deaf ears. What they have given me are school-to-work high school seniors.

This semester I have two lovely young girls working for me. They check books in an out, repair books, keep the library tidy, and do other tasks when I ask them to. One problem with this is that I often don’t have much time to train them. I almost never get to interact with my afternoon helper because I always have a class when she comes. This makes me feel bad because I don’t get to encourage her enough.

Another group of volunteers I manage are the “Reading Friends”. The Friends are a group of retired folks (many teachers) that come in to read with struggling kids. There are 55 of them and my job is to schedule their time, facilitate their needs, and act as a bridge between the teachers and the volunteers. This is rewarding but terribly time consuming! The scheduling is a nightmare!

All-in-all, I like working with the volunteers. It’s a great way to bridge the community and the school library.

 

About ritaplattlibrarian

I am an elementary school librarian and I love my job more than it should be possible to love a job! A Nationally Board Certified teacher, my experience includes teaching learners of all levels from kindergarten to graduate students.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

