Day 20

2/16/12

Today I just felt grumpy! Doesn’t happen that often, but occasionally I get frustrated by the sheer amount of work that I cram into each day. The endless barrage of little problems and questions and needs for attention. I am not complaining, just telling how I felt today. I think that being an elementary school librarian is the best job in the world, but today I felt grumpy. It’s a normal part of anyone’s life, right?

My wonderful husband wrote this poem for me after we had a few laughs about my day. It pretty much sums up how I felt today.

Ode on an Irritated Librarian

By John Wolfe

It’s 2:15; you’ve been running like a sprinter

mean streets of dusty shelves – more a marathon —

and you still haven’t replaced the toner in the printer

 

unshelved returns heap round, a permabound winter,

to be shelved at lunchtime – but that time has come and gone –

so when? you don’t feel compelled to even wonder.

 

In the repairs pile Harry Potter lies in splinters

or whatever wizards collapse into when their bindings gone

an angry insistent beeping rises from the printer

 

It was you who made this place the school’s center,

with reading buddies, buddies reading, voices on and on,

you love the buzz, but even the most seasoned sprinter

 

dreams of lolling lazy on a convenient manicured lawn

but in three minutes you’ll be helping 30 3rd-graders enter

passwords so complex they’d boggle the Pentagon.

 

And you’ll listen as first-graders read in halting sing song

some Dr. Seuss book you’d rather see a cinder

but your chance to hide the book has long since gone

And you still haven’t replaced the toner in the printer.

 

 

About ritaplattlibrarian

I am an elementary school librarian and I love my job more than it should be possible to love a job! A Nationally Board Certified teacher, my experience includes teaching learners of all levels from kindergarten to graduate students.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

