Day 22

2/21/12

One of the things I like about how I run my library is the way students are asked to help keep it neat, clean, and organized.

Books are put away in one of 4 places:

1. The hardback browser (by AR color)

2. The paperback browser (by AR color)

3. The “spinny rack” (by series)

4. The shelves (by Dewey)

ALL students know how to put books away in the browsers and spinny rack. In 2nd grade students learn how to find and put away fiction books (novel section & picture book section) on the shelves. In 3rd grade students learn how to find and put away nonfiction books on the shelves.

Almost all reshelving is done by students. When a child comes in to return a book I check it back in and ask her/him to put it away for me. Each morning, recess, and afternoon I have 4th graders reshelving.

They students love to help, they learn library skills, they take ownership in their library, and they help me a ton!

 

 

About ritaplattlibrarian

I am an elementary school librarian and I love my job more than it should be possible to love a job! A Nationally Board Certified teacher, my experience includes teaching learners of all levels from kindergarten to graduate students.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

