Day 23

2/23/12

Today I got ready for a substitute. I am taking a personal day tomorrow. Writing lesson plans for a guest librarian is challenging. There are so many passwords, procedures, unforeseeable needs, and directions to be issued and dealt with.

One time I left a sub with my beloved library for half a day. In that time she checked out EVERY single book that passed under her scanning wand to the SAME child! Oh my! What a mess. I don’t blame her, my job is complicated!

To help with this, I keep standard instructions handy. A sheet with passwords, a booklet that explains how to reshelve books, and information on how to print AR tests. I then write plans for each 30 minute period of the day. Tomorrow that means sharing plans for 3 classes (grades 1, 3, & 4), 4 checkout sessions, and 3 intervention groups.

These days I feel blessed to have the same sub every time I’m gone. She is WONDERFUL! She spent a day with me in the library to learn and in return I promised that I would call her each time I needed to be out. This has worked beautifully. Today, as I left, I did so without the usual pang of fear that I experience when I know I’ll be gone.

About ritaplattlibrarian

I am an elementary school librarian and I love my job more than it should be possible to love a job! A Nationally Board Certified teacher, my experience includes teaching learners of all levels from kindergarten to graduate students.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

