Day 25

2/27/12

This is my last journal entry! While I’ve enjoyed the writing and REALLY enjoyed the reflecting on how all of the posts fit together, I’m glad I’m done. It was another big task and, as the content of the journal reflects, librarians have enough big tasks for two people!

This week we’ll have our spring break and only have school on Monday, Tuesday, & Wednesday. The district technology director is upgrading our server and we’ll be getting a newer version of our Destiny software. I’m really excited! The work will begin tomorrow and so I had to ask the students and staff to not check out or return books on Tuesday or Wednesday. This meant that today was BUSY!!! Usually I only allow children to check out 2 books at a time but today I allowed them 4 if needed so they’d have enough to read over the break. I’m sure that tomorrow I’ll have some kids come and ask to check out and I’ll have to break their little hearts. Many of our students come to the library everyday or two to get new books. I’m really glad to have a system that is so open. I’ve worked at schools where kids can only checkout books on their assigned library day and I really dislike that.

 

About ritaplattlibrarian

I am an elementary school librarian and I love my job more than it should be possible to love a job! A Nationally Board Certified teacher, my experience includes teaching learners of all levels from kindergarten to graduate students.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

